• Site Counter: 2,274,897
  • Visitors:
  • Today: 8486
    This year: 48161

Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Zaragoza – International Centre for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies

Short name

IAMZ will be in charge of implementing Training activities in WP4.3,. Two one-week training courses will be organized at two different levels: one for scientists and another one for development decision-makers and technicians. The programmes of the courses will be defined in ad-hoc meetings with the steering committee of the project.
Work packages
IAMZ holds longstanding experience in the organisation of training activities in subject-matters related to this proposal. Protection against forest fire (1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001), International cooperation programmes for forest fire control in the Mediterranean region (2004), Soil restoration after fire (1992, 1996), Soil degradation in Mediterranean agricultural regions: impact and corrective measures (1997, 2002), Ecological engineering applied to environmental restoration in Mediterranean areas (2004), Techniques for mitigating desertification processes in Mediterranean countries (2000), Land restoration to combat desertification: innovative approaches, quality control and project evaluation (2005). Some of the courses of IAMZ are organized within the framework of EU funded projects as REACTION - Restoration Actions to Combat Desertification in the Northern Mediterranean; contract EVK2-CT2002-80025, FP6 - Global Change and Ecosystems; and MEDROPLAN - Mediterranean Drought Preparedness and Mitigation Planning, EU MedaWater. Two other courses have been scheduled for the 2009-2010 academic year within the framework of the DeSurvey Project (A Surveillance System for Assessing and Monitoring of Desertification; FP6, Global Change and Ecosystems ).
Brief description of the legal entity
IAMZ is one of the four Institutes endowing the International Centre for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies (CIHEAM), founded in 1962 as Intergovernmental Organization under the auspices of the OECD (Organization for Economic Co-operation Development). The main objectives of CIHEAM are post-graduate education and promotion of research in the fields of agriculture and natural resources. Presently, CIHEAM comprises thirteen member countries: Albania, Algeria, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Tunisia, and Turkey. IAMZ-CIHEAM works in partnership with the specialist national institutions as well as in cooperation with the international organizations active in the Region (e.g., ICARDA, FAO, OADA, etc.).


Mon, 2014-01-20 10:26

Universidad de Córdoba (Spain) - 15th-17th January 2014

Communications' abtracts (in Spanish):...

Mon, 2013-12-02 13:03
Mon, 2013-09-23 14:17


Research Areas 2 and 5

The United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR) is issuing a...